Cups & Comps

Annual Start and Finish Dates - 2016-2020

Season 2016 Start 7 May Finish 3 September

Season 2017 Start 6 May Finish 2 September

Season 2018 Start 5 May Finish 1 September

Season 2019 Start 11 May Finish 7 September

Season 2020 Start 9 May Finish 5 September

Notes: The above is based on the principle of fixing our end of season to the first Saturday in September rather than fixing our start of season to Club Cricket Conference “Opening Season Dates”. This means that the 2017 and 2018 seasons will conclude on 2 September and 1 September respectively and not 9 September and 8 September if those Club Cricket Conference guidelines were followed.

We would encourage all clubs to ensure that where local councils are concerned that they are made aware of these requirement. We have always played league cricket into at least the first Saturday of September and the recent policy of some councils’ to conclude all cricket on 31 August potentially conflicts with what has always been accepted as the norm in the past.

If we did try to eradicate September entirely from our league timetable and start a week earlier it would mean that in some seasons we would have to start league cricket in April when many council grounds are unavailable for cricket and some grounds are still recovering from winter sports played on the outfield.

The above is based on our current eighteen week league season.

Reference file to check start times each year by division
Start times ready reckoner

Where next?

2017 Results Reporting Home side - input summary result by 10.00am on Sunday following the match League - lock the summ

The Travelbag Surrey Championship newsletter

Keep up-to-date with our exclusive email newsletters.